Kent Leadership logo

Political Arrangements

The County Council has 84 electoral divisions and elections take place every four years. The political composition of the County Council is as follows:

45 members
17 members
13 members
Liberal Democrat
7 members
Independents Group
2 members

The Leader of Kent County Council is Paul Carter.

There is a Cabinet of executive Members which meets regularly to debate policy issues and make key decisions.

The Cabinet comprises:
Paul Carter CBE Leader and Cabinet Member for Business Strategy, Audit & Transformation
John Simmonds MBE Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Finance & Procurement
David Brazier Cabinet Member for Environment & Transport
Gary Cooke Cabinet Member for Corporate & Democratic Services
Mark Dance Cabinet Member for Economic Development
Graham Gibbens Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care & Public Health
Roger Gough Cabinet Member for Education & Health Reform
Mike Hill Cabinet Member for Community Services
Bryan Sweetland Cabinet Member for Commercial & Traded Services
Peter Oakford Cabinet Member for Specialist Children’s Services